Women Against Feminism

Women Against Feminism had my brow furrowed for quite a while. After reading these, I think feminism is being sorely misrepresented.

Choice feminism is supposed to represent equality for men and women and freedom of choice.

Instead, the most common signs I saw on this site described feminism as controlling, shaming to women, and hateful to men.

http://womenagainstfeminism.tumblr.com/submit

Feminism gives you a reason to act like an “empty-headed slut” and cheat on your boyfriend, does it? Great choice words. Is that what you’ve gathered from women being encouraged to have sexual freedom and choice over their bodies? Slut-shaming is the OPPOSITE of what feminism does.

Submitted by a fan!  submit your pic. It will remain anonymous.http://womenagainstfeminism.tumblr.com/submit

Again, sexual freedom is not “slutty.” Sex is not something that should be monitored and controlled. Your daughters are going to have sex. Hell, they might even enjoy it.

Click here to submit your picturevisit us on Facebook 

Feminism is NOT about being a “man-hater.” The goal is equality, as in women and men being equal. As in, acknowledging issues faced by all men, women, lesbians, gays, transgender, white, black, Asian, orange, green, yellow, ALL.

http://womenagainstfeminism.tumblr.com/submit

This is just sad. I am a feminist and I think sex work is a profession. It’s a profession women chose to have and that is their choice. Sex work is very controversial but the idea that someone, man or woman, DESERVES to be raped is wrong.

http://womenagainstfeminism.tumblr.com/submit

1) Pro-choice doesn’t mean having children is a “punishment.” It’s a choice. It’s your body. If you have an abortion, that is your choice. If you have a child, that is your choice. Neither is shamed. 2) When did cooking become oppression? I cook for my boyfriend. I clean the house. I’m a feminist. There’s no oppression in something I like doing. 3) I don’t even know what that means. I think part of the feminist argument is trying to develop a sense independence and being able to sustain yourself without relying on others. I think the action you’re referring to comes from being a brat, not a feminist.

Click here to submit your picture

Another sign said “victim complex is a personality disorder.” Sure, women are paid less. Sure, rape is condoned. Sure, women are objectified in media and advertising constantly. Sure, women are portrayed as the weaker sex in most literature and film. Sure, women struggle with their body image and diet pill companies make a fortune off it. However, women in America still have it better than women in most other countries and we do have a large number of rights. As I’ve said before — just because things could be worse doesn’t mean they can’t be better. I am not a victim. I’m just a product of the society I live in. Out of curiosity: Do African Americans, who have struggled and fought for rights and gained many but deserve more, have a personality disorder? Do they have a victim complex?

Click here to submit your picture

I’m unsure if this woman is Muslim or not but I can fully understand how American feminism may not represent certain religions and ethnicities. It’s hard to apply a universal movement to a world of varying cultures and ideals. The question is, is it possible for feminism to encompass the standing of all men and women around the world?

All that said, being a feminist or not being a feminist is also a choice and the choice is yours. I’d like to hear how men think of feminism, since it’s a man’s issue also.

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “Women Against Feminism

  1. Craig says:

    I try not to define myself by what the world thinks of me or how the word treats me.

    Like

Leave a comment